I know this is stretching it but…

I was just thinking that the BBC got itself in to such a state over Jam in part because while the BBC was trying to become web… the web had changed direction and had become the BBC.

So in a short space of time (and subject to litigation) I can now browse for clips on any historical subject, watch Andy Pandy or find my favourite film clips on YouTube but I can’t on the BBC – they might treat me to a slideshow if I’m lucky and they’ll wrap their radio up with RealPlayer which I don’t wish to download.

Perhaps there is also an analogy to be drawn between the BBC and Microsoft at the time the Internet arrived – Microsoft didn’t really get it..(still don’t some would say) and it took them a long time to turn the tanker around. The BBC have never really got the web and now I fear it may be too late.

Leave a Reply

